Main telephone number:
020 8401 3000

Bone Health Service

Please refer to CUH Osteoporosis management pathways for assessing and treating your patients with suspected / established osteoporosis and use referral pathway for patients who require referral to the osteoporosis clinic.

Meet the team

Rheumatology – Osteoporosis clinics at Purley Memorial Hospital and Croydon University Hospital. Assessment and specialist treatment of Osteoporosis and Metabolic Bone Disorders. Contact: Dr Rizwan Rajak (Osteoporosis Lead, Consultant Rheumatologist) rizwanrajak@nhs.net and Dr Natalie Horwood (Consultant Rheumatologist) natalie.horwood@nhs.net.

Fracture Liaison Service – Fracture Liaison Nurse clinics at Croydon University Hospital. Bone health and falls assessments in secondary prevention of patients who have had fragility fractures and seen in Trauma / fracture clinics in Orthopaedics. Contact: Mrs Elaine Li (FLS Nurse) elaine.li@nhs.net.

Geriatrics – Falls service (clinics at Purley Memorial Hospital and Croydon University Hospital. Assessment and treatment of patients with recurrent falls. Contact: Dr Wallace Tan (Falls Lead, Consultant Geriatrician) wallacetan@nhs.net). Orthogeriatrics – Croydon University Hospital. Bone health assessment of patients older than 60 years admitted with hip fractures. Contacts: Dr Joseph Rehman (Consultant Geriatrician) j.rehman@nhs.net and Dr Amanda Humphreys (Consultant Geriatrician) amandahumphreys1@nhs.net.

Orthopaedics – Kyphoplasty service (Croydon University Hospital). Surgical management of acute vertebral fractures. Contact: Mr Michael Kotrba (Orthopaedic Consultant) michael.kotrba@nhs.net.  

Radiology – Bone density scan service (DEXA scan) at Purley Memorial Hospital. DEXA scanning to ascertain patients’ bone density status. Contact: Mrs Anna Cowling (Radiographer) acowling@nhs.net.

Dietetics – Dietetics service at Purley Memorial Hospital and Croydon University Hospital. Review of diet regarding optimizing calcium and Vitamin D and assessment of patients with low BMI and coeliac disease (important risk factors for Osteoporosis). Contact: Miss Kay Eaton (Dietician) kay.eaton2@nhs.net.

Physiotherapy Dept – physiotherapy at Purley Memorial Hospital and Croydon University Hospital. Focus on low impact exercises to improve bone density and muscle conditioning. Contact: Mrs Susan Peerman (Physiotherapist) ch-tr.physioadmin@nhs.net.

 

related links

Useful links

Google Translate